There’s no place like back home after the holidays: 2013 in a nutshell

DSC02761
After nearly a month away from home between visiting our families for the holidays and going on a belated honeymoon, I’m glad to be back in Toulouse. It’s also been nearly a month away from this blog and in the meantime I’ve been all over the state of California with my hubby without writing a single word about it here. We’ve seen a lot of really neat sights over the last few weeks and I hope to share them with you all soon.

In the meantime, January is the perfect time to take stock of the previous year and breathe a little as we ease back into the grind. 2013 was a crazy year: my husband started a new postdoctoral fellowship, we moved in together and then we got married. He also lost his grandfather after a long illness, which was a difficult time for his family. In our professional lives, my PhD seemed to be lost in the wilderness, while postdoctoral fellowships for my husband became an endangered species as European research funds began circling the drain. 2013 was difficult at times (frequently), but I’m glad we made it through and I’m looking forward to what 2014 has to offer. At least one thing is sure, I’ll either graduate or run out of money, but my PhD will be over at the end of 2014 come what may!

Finally, I created a Broke in France in 2013 as a way to share the ups and downs of my experiences in France with the internet community. So far it has been a positive experience and I’ve found that there are a lot of kindred spirits on the web. Also, I’ve discovered that writing for an audience is not always as simple as it seems. Like writing a cover letter or sending out an office memo, everything suddenly becomes a lot more complicated when it will be read by others, but that’s also part of the fun.

Well, it’s time for me to go nurse my persistent jet lag.

Until next time, à plus.

Leave a Reply

